How much can a small business borrow? Amounts and terms lenders publish (2026)

Edited by Moe Ameen · Published

Published limits run from a few thousand dollars to $5 million. The online lenders we checked mostly cap loans between $100,000 and $5 million, with terms of two years or less and daily or weekly payments. Banks lend smaller unsecured amounts on monthly payments: Chase up to $500,000, Bank of America up to $250,000 on a line. Few lenders publish costs; OnDeck reports an average 53.2% APR on term loans.

Key takeaways

  • Online lenders mostly cap terms at 24 months; banks offer up to five years.
  • Daily or weekly payments are common at online lenders and rare at banks.
  • OnDeck publishes its average APRs: 53.2% on term loans and 59.8% on lines of credit.
  • SBA 7(a) loans go up to $5 million, with terms up to 10 years, or 25 for real estate.

How much can I borrow from an online lender?

Published maximums ran from $100,000 to $5 million. Headway's line tops out at $100,000; Kapitus advertises up to $5 million.

OnDeck term loans run $5,000 to $400,000 [1], and its lines $6,000 to $200,000 [2]. Headway Capital's lines run $5,000 to $100,000 [22]. Bluevine lines go up to $250,000 [3]. National Funding lends up to $500,000 [5], Credibly $25,000 to $600,000 [6], and Fora up to $1.5 million [10]. Biz2Credit term loans run $25,000 to $2 million [11], and Kapitus advertises business loans up to $5 million [7].

How much do banks lend to small businesses?

Less, unsecured, but over longer terms. Chase lends up to $500,000; Bank of America's unsecured term loan tops out at $100,000.

Chase offers term loans up to $500,000, typically up to five years [13], and lines of $10,000 to $500,000 for existing Chase business customers [14]. Wells Fargo's unsecured BusinessLine runs $10,000 to $150,000 [15]. Bank of America's unsecured term loan runs $10,000 to $100,000 over one to five years [16], and its unsecured line $10,000 to $250,000 [17].

How long are small business loan terms?

Two years or less at most online lenders we checked, up to five years at banks, and 10 to 25 years for SBA 7(a) loans.

OnDeck's term loans max out at 24 months [1], National Funding's run 4 to 24 months [5], and Credibly's 6 to 24 months [6]. Biz2Credit and Rapid Finance go out to 60 months [11][12]. SBA 7(a) loans run 10 years or less for most purposes, including equipment, and up to 25 years for real estate [19][23].

Why do some business loans have daily payments?

Many online lenders collect daily or weekly by automatic debit. OnDeck, National Funding and Credibly all list daily or weekly payments.

OnDeck's term loans use daily or weekly payments [1]; National Funding and Credibly do too [5][6]. Banks we checked bill monthly: Chase, Bank of America and SmartBiz's SBA loans all list monthly payments [13][16][18]. A daily debit comes out of your account whether or not that day's sales came in, so check the schedule before you compare totals.

What do small business loans cost?

Of the online lenders we checked, only OnDeck publishes it: an average 53.2% APR on term loans and 59.8% on lines in the first half of 2026.

OnDeck reports those averages for loans it originated in the first half of 2026 [1][2]. Credibly prices with factor rates from 1.11 plus a 2.5% origination fee on most deals [6]. Wells Fargo's unsecured line runs Prime + 1.75% to Prime + 9.75% [15], and SBA microloans generally carry 8% to 13% [20]. Some states require an APR on offers; see working capital options.

Glisten check

Published amounts, terms and costs, side by side

From each lender's own product page and sba.gov, read October 28, 2026.
Lender and productAmountTermPaymentsPublished cost
Bank of America unsecured line$10,000–$250,000 [17]RevolvingNot statedPrime + 0% intro for 7 cycles; $150 annual fee after year 1 [17]
Bank of America unsecured term loan$10,000–$100,000 [16]1–5 years [16]Monthly [16]Not published
Biz2Credit term loan$25,000–$2 million [11]3–60 months [11]Not statedNot published
Bluevine line of creditUp to $250,000 [3]Not statedWeekly or monthly [3]As low as 7.8% for top applicants [3]
Chase business line$10,000–$500,000 [14]5-year draw, then 5 to repay [14]Monthly [14]Variable, indexed to Prime [14]
Chase term loanUp to $500,000 [13]Typically up to 5 years [13]Monthly [13]Not published
Credibly working capital$25,000–$600,000 [6]6–24 months [6]Daily or weekly [6]Factor rate from 1.11 + 2.5% fee [6]
Fora FinancialUp to $1.5 million [10]Up to 18 months [10]Weekly [10]Not published
Headway Capital line$5,000–$100,000 [22]12–24 months [9]Weekly or monthly [9]Calculator assumes 3.3% a month + 2% draw fee [9]
Kapitus business loanUp to $5 million [7]6–24 months [7]Daily, weekly or monthly [7]Not published
Kapitus line of creditUp to $750,000 [8]12–36 months [8]Daily, weekly or monthly [8]Not published
National FundingUp to $500,000 [5]4–24 months [5]Daily or weekly [5]Not published
OnDeck line of credit$6,000–$200,000 [2]12, 18 or 24 months [2]Weekly or monthly [2]Average 59.8% APR [2]
OnDeck term loan$5,000–$400,000 [1]Up to 24 months [1]Daily or weekly [1]Average 53.2% APR [1]
Rapid Finance small business loanUp to $1 million [12]3–60 months [12]Daily or weekly [12]Not published
SBA 7(a), via lendersUp to $5 million [21]Up to 10 years; 25 for real estate [19]Monthly for mostCapped by SBA [19]
SBA microloanUp to $50,000 [20]Up to 7 years [20]Not statedGenerally 8%–13% [20]
SmartBiz SBA 7(a)$50,000–$350,000 [18]10 years [18]Monthly [18]Prime + 3.0% to Prime + 4.75% [18]
Wells Fargo BusinessLine$10,000–$150,000 [15]Revolving [15]Not statedPrime + 1.75% to Prime + 9.75% [15]

Of the online lenders here, OnDeck was the only one that published an average APR. Fundbox doesn't publish amounts, and its line of credit page lists two different term schedules [4], so we left it out of the table.

Is this right for you?

Best for

  • Owners sizing a loan before they apply.
  • Anyone comparing daily-payment online loans with monthly bank loans.

Not ideal for

  • Predicting your own offer. Lenders set amounts and prices per application.
  • Real estate purchases. See SBA 504 in SBA loans explained.

Frequently asked questions

What's the most I can borrow for a small business?

Up to $5 million through an SBA 7(a) loan [21], or $5 million with an SBA 504 loan for fixed assets ($5.5 million for small manufacturers). Kapitus advertises business loans up to $5 million [7].

How much can I get from OnDeck?

Term loans from $5,000 to $400,000 and lines from $6,000 to $200,000 [1][2].

Do banks offer small business loans under $50,000?

Yes. Bank of America's unsecured term loan and line both start at $10,000 [16][17], as do Chase's and Wells Fargo's lines [14][15].

What APR do online business lenders charge?

Of the online lenders we checked, only OnDeck publishes one. It reports average APRs of 53.2% on term loans and 59.8% on lines of credit for the first half of 2026 [1][2].

How we know this

On October 28, 2026 we read each lender's own product page for amounts, terms, payment schedules and any published cost, and sba.gov for SBA program limits. Where a lender's own pages disagreed, we used its main product page and noted the conflict.

  1. Business term loan, OnDeck. Checked October 28, 2026.
  2. Line of credit, OnDeck. Checked October 28, 2026.
  3. Line of credit, Bluevine. Checked October 28, 2026.
  4. Line of credit, Fundbox. Checked October 28, 2026.
  5. Small business loans, National Funding. Checked October 28, 2026.
  6. Working capital loans, Credibly. Checked October 28, 2026.
  7. Business loans, Kapitus. Checked October 28, 2026.
  8. Line of credit, Kapitus. Checked October 28, 2026.
  9. Headway Capital, Headway Capital. Checked October 28, 2026.
  10. Fora Financial, Fora Financial. Checked October 28, 2026.
  11. Term loan, Biz2Credit. Checked October 28, 2026.
  12. Rapid Finance, Rapid Finance. Checked October 28, 2026.
  13. Business loans, Chase. Checked October 28, 2026.
  14. Business line of credit, Chase. Checked October 28, 2026.
  15. Unsecured BusinessLine line of credit, Wells Fargo. Checked October 28, 2026.
  16. Unsecured business loan, Bank of America. Checked October 28, 2026.
  17. Unsecured business line of credit, Bank of America. Checked October 28, 2026.
  18. SBA loans, SmartBiz Bank. Checked October 28, 2026.
  19. Types of 7(a) loans, SBA. Checked October 28, 2026.
  20. Microloans, SBA. Checked October 28, 2026.
  21. 7(a) loans, SBA. Checked October 28, 2026.
  22. FAQ, Headway Capital. Checked October 28, 2026.
  23. SBA loans for equipment, NerdWallet. Checked October 28, 2026.