What lenders check on a business loan application, and what to have ready
Edited by Moe Ameen · Published
The lenders we checked look at your personal credit, time in business, revenue and bank statements. Online lenders ask for as little as three months of bank statements plus your tax ID and SSN, while Chase and Wells Fargo want two to three years of tax returns and financial statements. At the online lenders we checked, applying means a soft pull; Bluevine, Fundbox and Lendio say a hard pull, if any, comes later.
Key takeaways
- OnDeck asks for just three months of bank statements, your tax ID and owners' SSNs.
- Bank lines of credit want two to three years of business and personal tax returns.
- At the online lenders we checked, applying is a soft pull; Bluevine and Lendio say accepting an offer may bring a hard inquiry.
- SBA lenders use SBA Form 1919 and Form 413, a personal financial statement.
What do lenders check on a business loan application?
Your personal credit score, time in business, revenue and bank activity. Banks add tax returns and financial statements.
Bluevine, for example, wants a corporation or LLC at least 12 months old, $10,000 in monthly revenue and a 625 FICO, plus your SSN and EIN [2]. The minimums other lenders publish are compared in business loan requirements.
What documents do online lenders ask for?
Usually three months of business bank statements, your tax ID and owners' SSNs. Some read your bank account directly instead.
OnDeck lists your business tax ID, the last three months of bank statements and owners' Social Security numbers [1]. Bluevine asks you to connect your bank, or upload three months of statements if you don't [2]. Fundbox needs a business checking account with at least three months of transactions [3]. Kapitus tells applicants to expect three to six months of statements and two to three years of tax returns [4].
What documents do banks ask for on a business loan?
More paperwork: two to three years of business and personal tax returns, recent financial statements and proof of good standing.
Chase's line of credit asks for proof of good standing with your state, your latest year's financials, your articles of organization or incorporation, a tax transcript authorization, and business and personal tax returns [5]. Chase says most loan programs want three years of returns [6]. Wells Fargo's Prime Line asks for two years of personal and business returns, a personal financial statement and two years of year-end statements [7].
What do SBA lenders ask for?
It depends on the loan size and lender, the SBA says. Expect SBA Form 1919 and Form 413, a personal financial statement.
The SBA says 7(a) application contents vary with the loan size and the lender's process, and your lender tells you what you need [8]. Form 1919 is the borrower information form [9], and Form 413 helps the lender assess your repayment ability and creditworthiness [10]. More in SBA loans explained.
Does applying for a business loan hurt my credit?
Usually not at the application stage. The online lenders we checked use a soft pull; Bluevine, Fundbox and Lendio say a hard pull comes when you accept or draw.
OnDeck does a soft check on the owner's personal credit to judge eligibility [1]. Bluevine says applying and reviewing an offer won't affect your score, but accepting one may bring a hard inquiry [2]. Fundbox runs a hard pull at your first draw [3]. Lendio says accepting a funding offer may mean a hard inquiry, depending on the lender [11]. National Funding says exploring options doesn't affect your score [12].
Glisten check
Documents and credit pulls, lender by lender
| Lender | Documents asked for | Credit check to apply | Hard pull, if any |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bluevine line of credit | SSN or ITIN, EIN; bank connection or 3 months of statements [2] | Doesn't affect your score [2] | May happen when you accept an offer [2] |
| Chase business line | Good standing, latest financials, articles, tax transcript, business and personal returns [5] | Not stated | Not stated |
| Fundbox | Business checking with 3+ months of transactions [3] | Soft pull [3] | At your first draw [3] |
| Lendio (marketplace) | Varies by lender | Doesn't affect your score [11] | May happen when you accept, depending on lender [11] |
| National Funding | Not published | Doesn't affect your score [12] | Not stated |
| OnDeck | Tax ID, 3 months of bank statements, owners' SSNs [1] | Soft check [1] | Not stated |
| Wells Fargo Prime Line | 2 years of personal and business returns, personal financial statement, 2 years of year-end statements [7] | Not stated | Not stated |
None of these lenders' pages asks for a voided check. The banks want years of tax returns up front, while OnDeck, Bluevine and Fundbox lean on your bank account activity.
Is this right for you?
Best for
- Owners gathering paperwork before applying.
- Anyone worried an application will hurt their credit.
Not ideal for
- Predicting whether you'll be offered funding. Lenders weigh more than the documents.
Frequently asked questions
How many months of bank statements do lenders want?
Three at OnDeck and Bluevine [1][2]. Kapitus says to expect three to six [4].
Do I need tax returns for a business loan?
For bank loans, usually: Chase says most programs want three years [6], and Wells Fargo's Prime Line asks for two [7].
Does OnDeck do a hard credit pull?
OnDeck says it uses a soft check on the owner's personal credit to judge eligibility [1].
What is SBA Form 413?
A personal financial statement lenders use to assess repayment ability and creditworthiness on 7(a), 504 and disaster loans [10].
How we know this
On October 28, 2026 we read each lender's own FAQ, product and checklist pages for the documents they ask for and when they pull credit, and sba.gov's 7(a), Form 1919 and Form 413 pages.
- FAQ, OnDeck. Checked October 28, 2026.
- Line of credit, Bluevine. Checked October 28, 2026.
- FAQ, Fundbox. Checked October 28, 2026.
- Small business loan application checklist, Kapitus. Checked October 28, 2026.
- Business line of credit FAQs, Chase. Checked October 28, 2026.
- Business loan application checklist, Chase. Checked October 28, 2026.
- Business line FAQs, Wells Fargo. Checked October 28, 2026.
- 7(a) loans, SBA. Checked October 28, 2026.
- SBA Form 1919: Borrower information form, SBA. Checked October 28, 2026.
- SBA Form 413: Personal financial statement, SBA. Checked October 28, 2026.
- Line of credit, Lendio. Checked October 28, 2026.
- Loans and financing, National Funding. Checked October 28, 2026.