Origination fees: what lenders charge and how they change your APR (2026)
Edited by Moe Ameen · Published
An origination fee is what a lender charges for making a loan, usually a percentage of the amount. On personal loans, Happen Bank publishes 0% to 8%, Prosper 1% to 9.99%, and Avant and Best Egg up to 9.99%, while Discover says it charges no fees. Most take the fee out of the money you receive. On a $15,000, five-year loan at 10%, a 6% fee raises the APR from 10.00% to 12.71%.
Key takeaways
- Published personal loan fees on the pages we read run from none (Discover) to 9.99% (Avant, Best Egg, Prosper).
- Avant, Best Egg and Upstart say the fee comes out of your loan proceeds, so you get less than you borrow.
- Regulation Z counts loan fees as finance charges, so they're in the APR.
- A no-fee loan isn't automatically cheaper. Compare APRs on the same term.
What is an origination fee?
It's the lender's charge for making the loan: processing the application, underwriting and funding it. It's usually a percentage of the loan amount.
The CFPB defines it for mortgages as "what the lender charges the borrower for making the mortgage loan," covering processing, underwriting, funding and other administrative work [1]. Personal lenders use the same idea under different names. Avant calls its fee an administration fee [3], and Happen Bank says "origination/processing fee" [6].
Whatever it's called, Regulation Z lists "points, loan fees, assumption fees, finder's fees, and similar charges" as finance charges [2]. That means the fee has to show up in the APR the lender gives you.
How much are origination fees?
On the personal loan pages we read, from nothing at Discover to as much as 9.99% at Avant, Best Egg and Prosper. Your fee depends on your application.
Happen Bank publishes a range of 0.00% to 8.00% of the loan amount [6]. Prosper publishes 1% to 9.99% [7]. Avant and Best Egg both say up to 9.99% [3][4]. Upgrade and Upstart don't print a range on the pages we read, but their examples use a 5% fee and an 8.15% fee [8][9]. Discover says "no fees of any kind" [5]. The full list is in the table further down.
Bankrate puts the typical range at 1% to 10% of the loan, with some bad-credit lenders going to 12% [11]. That fits what the lenders publish. Car loans can be different. U.S. Bank's auto refinance calculator says its APR includes a flat $100 origination fee [10].
Is the origination fee deducted from the loan or added to it?
Usually deducted, so you receive less than you borrow and repay the full amount. Some lenders add it to the balance instead, which raises the payment.
Best Egg says the fee "will be deducted from your loan proceeds" [4], and Upstart says it's typically taken out before the money is sent [9]. Avant deducts its fee too, and says the fee counts as part of the loan principal and earns interest [3]. Bankrate says lenders either deduct it or add it to your balance, and deducting is more common [11].
If you need a set amount in hand, a deducted fee means borrowing more. Say you need $15,000 and the fee is 6%. You'd have to borrow $15,957.45 so $15,000 is left after the fee. At 10% over five years, that pushes the payment from $318.71 to $339.05.
How does an origination fee change the APR?
It raises it, because you pay interest on the full loan but get less cash. A 6% fee on $15,000 at 10% for five years lifts the APR to 12.71%.
The rate and the payment stay the same. What changes is the cash you get. Upstart's example shows it: $10,000 at 19.08% for 60 months with an $815 fee, so you receive $9,185 and the APR is 23.37% [9]. Prosper's three-year $10,000 loan at 17.29% with an 8.99% fee is 24.19% APR [7].
Term matters as well. The same 6% fee on a $15,000 loan at 10% is 12.71% APR over five years and 14.31% over three. There are fewer years to spread it across. Our table below runs the five-year case at several fee levels.
Can you negotiate or avoid an origination fee?
Sometimes. Ask the lender to lower or waive it, compare APRs from several lenders, and look at no-fee lenders, but check that the rate isn't higher.
- Ask Bankrate says it's worth asking lenders to lower or waive the fee, and that excellent credit or a competing offer can help [11].
- Compare APRs, not fees A loan at 13% with no fee costs more than one at 10% with a 5% fee on a $15,000, five-year loan: 13.00% APR against 12.24%. Our arithmetic.
- Look at no-fee lenders Discover says it charges no fees [5]. Check its APR against the others before you assume it's the cheapest.
- Check the dollar figure The fee shows as a percentage. Multiply it out. A 9.99% fee on $15,000 is $1,498.50 you never see.
- Watch for fees before funding Bankrate flags a request to pay a fee before you get the loan as a possible scam sign [11]. Real origination fees come out of the loan or get added to it.
On a mortgage, origination charges go on the Loan Estimate, and the CFPB says they generally can't go up at closing except in certain circumstances [1].
Glisten check
What lenders publish about origination fees, and what a fee does to the APR
| Lender | Fee as published | How it's paid |
|---|---|---|
| Avant [3] | Administration fee up to 9.99% | Deducted from loan proceeds |
| Best Egg [4] | Up to 9.99% | Deducted from loan proceeds |
| Discover [5] | No fees | None to pay |
| Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub) [6] | 0.00% to 8.00% | Example shows it deducted |
| Prosper [7] | 1% to 9.99% | Example shows it deducted |
| Upgrade [8] | Range not stated; example uses 5% | Example shows it deducted |
| Upstart [9] | Range not stated; example uses 8.15% | Typically deducted |
| U.S. Bank, auto refinance [10] | $100, included in the APR | Not stated |
| Fee | In dollars | Cash you receive | APR |
|---|---|---|---|
| None | $0 | $15,000.00 | 10.00% |
| 1% | $150 | $14,850.00 | 10.43% |
| 3% | $450 | $14,550.00 | 11.32% |
| 6% | $900 | $14,100.00 | 12.71% |
| 9.99% | $1,498.50 | $13,501.50 | 14.65% |
If the 6% fee is added to the balance instead, you borrow $15,900 to get $15,000. The payment is $337.83 and the APR is 12.55%.
Is this right for you?
Best for
- Seeing what an origination fee costs you in dollars and in APR before you sign.
- Comparing a no-fee loan with one that charges a fee and a lower rate.
Not ideal for
- Predicting your own fee. Lenders set it per application within their published range.
- Choosing a lender. We list them alphabetically and don't pick one.
Frequently asked questions
Is an origination fee included in the APR?
Yes. Regulation Z treats loan fees as finance charges, and finance charges are what the APR is built from [2].
What is a normal origination fee on a personal loan?
Bankrate says 1% to 10% is typical [11]. On lenders' own pages we found ranges from none at Discover up to 9.99% at Avant, Best Egg and Prosper.
Do I pay interest on the origination fee?
When it's deducted, yes, in effect: you repay the full loan, fee included. Avant says its fee is part of the loan principal and accrues interest [3].
Do auto loans have origination fees?
Some do. U.S. Bank's auto refinance calculator says its APR includes a $100 origination fee [10].
Is a loan with no origination fee always cheaper?
No. Bankrate makes the same point [11]. On $15,000 over five years, 13% with no fee comes out at 13.00% APR, and 10% with a 5% fee comes out at 12.24%.
How we know this
On November 2, 2026 we read the personal loan pages of Avant, Best Egg, Discover, Happen Bank, Prosper, Upgrade and Upstart, U.S. Bank's auto refinance calculator, the CFPB's origination fee explainer and Regulation Z's finance charge rule. We checked the general claims against Bankrate. Fee figures come only from each lender's own page. The APR tables are our arithmetic.
- What are mortgage origination services? What is an origination fee?, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Checked November 2, 2026.
- Regulation Z, § 1026.4 Finance charge, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. Checked November 2, 2026.
- Personal loans, Avant. Checked November 2, 2026.
- Personal loans, Best Egg. Checked November 2, 2026.
- Personal loans, Discover. Checked November 2, 2026.
- Personal loans, Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub). Checked November 2, 2026.
- Personal loans, Prosper. Checked November 2, 2026.
- Personal loans, Upgrade. Checked November 2, 2026.
- Personal loans, Upstart. Checked November 2, 2026.
- Auto refinance calculator, U.S. Bank. Checked November 2, 2026.
- Personal loan origination fees: What to know, Bankrate. Checked November 2, 2026.